Book Review

Review: The Dangerous Ones

The Dangerous Ones

Written by: Lauren Blackwood

Wednesday Books

2024

Addictive and sworn-worthy, The Dangerous Ones has one irresistible vampire and a kick-ass warrior as they fight through the civil war.


The Dangerous Ones is perfect for fans of Justine Ireland’s Dread Nation. Instead of zombies, we’ve got Vampires and a steamy romance between one colored warrior woman and a dashing white centuries-old vamp.

Storytelling

I absolutely loved this novel. I could not put it down. Jerusalem is such a fantastic warrior, and the story begins with her running away from the plantation on which she was enslaved.

But instead of running, she stops and kills everyone hunting her, including a vampire. Her mother always told her to find something to be good. It turns out it’s killing vamps.

I loved her tone and narration, just the ferocity behind the storytelling. If I had let myself, I probably would have finished this novel in a day.

It was addictive and so challenging to put down. The pacing was incredible, moving and developing the plot fantastically.

The Dangerous Ones switches POVs sometimes twice in the same chapter to Alexie and then back to Jerusalem. And all without breaking the pace of the novel.

I loved that because we got to see their relationship blossom. He’s so in love with her, and it’s the sweetest thing how protective of her. But she’s not a girl who needs saving or protecting. They respect each other, trust each other, and protect each other. They are a team, and it’s the most wholesome thing in the world.

Final Thoughts

I absolutely loved The Dangerous Ones. It’s unputdownable, fierce, and perfect for anyone who wants a little steamy vampire romance in their storytelling.

143 Views

Unputdownable! | The Dangerous Ones Review

Addictive and sworn-worthy, The Dangerous Ones has one irresistible vampire and a kick-ass warrior as they fight through the civil war.

10
Character Development:
10
Couldn't Put It Down-ness:
10
Writing Quality:
10

Cynthia Ayala-Bujnicki majored in Writing and Publishing from Emerson College. Editor-in-chief of Cyn's Workshop, she loves to read and write while tending to her pepper plants. She currently lives in South Florida with her husband, two kids Dante and Selene and two furbabies Mr. J the Kitten who Thinks He's Batman (yes, that is his full name) and Nyx.

Leave a Reply